Skip to product information
1 of 14

Quill Hawk Publishing

Snow's Kitchen: A Novella and Cookbook

Snow's Kitchen: A Novella and Cookbook

Regular price $3.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $3.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Autograph? (not available for e-book or digital sample)

"Snow's Kitchen" is the final book in the "Snow" trilogy and is written in the voice of Snow's daughter, Dolly. This Young Adult novella is a coming of age story that turns a young refugee girl's life upside down as she journeys toward independence.

Dolly was thirteen years old when her family moved from Seattle to Orange County, California. Lost between two cultures, she did not feel she was Vietnamese or American. In her search to find a community of her own, Dolly lost her identity, her voice, and her independence. It was through the experience of first love, the discovery of new wave music, the appreciation of traditional foods, and the survival of tough love that she understood identity was rooted in self-love and self-acceptance.

Amy M. Le, award-winning author of "Snow in Vietnam" and "Snow in Seattle," gives readers a glimpse into the Vietnamese youth culture of the 1990s as they carved their own niche in America following resettlement from the Vietnam War. Diverging viewpoints from old-fashioned parents living in a progressive America brought conflict and cultural divide within familial generations. Food and music were the two elements that threaded the cultural and societal gaps.

Join us in Snow's Kitchen as we transition from the novella to the cookbook where pho, egg rolls, crepes, and other favorite foods from the Snow trilogy brings us together at the table to break bread and discover commonalities between different worlds. Similar to Fannie Flagg's "Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe," Jill Conner Browne's "Sweet Potato Queens" novels, and Patricia Cornwell's "Kay Scarpetta" series, Snow's Kitchen is chock-full of recipes, photos, and plot twists.

View full details

Product Details


  • Publisher: Quill Hawk Publishing; 1st edition
  • Publication Date: 2020-12-24
  • Language: English
  • File size: 25227
  • Text-to-Speech: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader:
  • Enhanced typesetting: Not Enabled
  • X-Ray: Not Enabled
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Print Length: 262 pages
  • Lending: Enabled


  • Publisher: Quill Hawk Publishing
  • Publication Date: 2020-12-31
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 262 pages
  • ISBN-10: 1735119458
  • ISBN-13: 978-1735119458
  • Item Weight: 1.11 pounds
  • Dimension: 6 x 0.63 x 9 inches


  • Publisher: Quill Hawk Publishing
  • Publication Date: 2020-12-31
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 262 pages
  • ISBN-10: 173511944X
  • ISBN-13: ‎ 978-1735119441
  • Item Weight: 12.5 ounces
  • Dimension: 5.98 x 0.55 x 9.02 inches

About The Author

Amy M. Le author Quill Hawk Publishing headshot

Amy M. Le

Amy M. Le is a Vietnam War survivor and Congenital Heart Defect (CHD) warrior. She is the award-winning author of the Snow trilogy and is currently working on her phoenix series—three books showcasing the resilience of people who’ve survived deep trauma. Amy is the founder of Quill Hawk Publishing, a woman-owned, Asian American company that helps writers indie publish their books while amplifying diverse voices through storytelling. She co-founded The Heart Community Collection, a resource for the CHD community, and sits on the board of the Vietnamese Boat People Podcast. Amy also serves as an officer for two writing organizations in Oklahoma. When she is not writing or volunteering, Amy is experimenting in the kitchen or watching NFL games, Formula 1 races, or UFC bouts.

Learn More

Featured collection